#JusJoJan 2019 – Jan. 25th – Balance

balance sheet of life

I found the above Balance Sheet of Life to be very useful and true because each one of those statements is essential to having a balanced emotional life.

I am one of those people that has always had issue with balancing all aspects of my life. I believe that has been a contributing factor to my alcoholism and addiction issues. The depression and being bipolar are just added circumstances. I tend to throw myself into whatever I am doing whole hog and blocking out other things. When I worked for the University of Texas at San Antonio, in every position I was always accessible whether in the office or not. I always took work home and spent many a weekend at the office, yet I did not take the best care of myself and that became the bane of my existence.

When I do yardwork, I do not quit until everything is done. My husband tells me all the time, take it easy and don’t do everything at once. I have been doing the four yards on my block for over 15 years. Our yard, the neighbor to the right is an older lady that has no one to manage her yard, the neighbor to the left is our old house and they pay me to do their yard and the neighbor to the left of them belonged to a nice lady who passed three years ago and her son still owns the house and pays me to manage the yard. When I start, I want everything uniform which means I tend to do all four yards edging and mowing on the same day. It wears me out.

I just am not good at balancing many things. I do believe the following:

balance2

I believe that if I can get a better handle on holding on to the things I need to hold on to – my health, my husband, my four legged children, and of course our family and friends – and continue to let go of those things that I do not need – alcohol or any other substance that does not belong in my body, then YES – I will have a much more balanced life.

That’s what’s in “My Rattled Cage”, thanks for stopping by!!

jjj-2019.jpg

#JusJoJan 2019 Daily Prompt – Jan. 25th

One thought on “#JusJoJan 2019 – Jan. 25th – Balance”

Leave a comment