#JusJoJan 2019 – Jan. 21st -Echo

echo-004f-main-1200x661

Echo began as a tough topic for me. I have sat here for the last two hours trying to detemrine what to write. Finally, I have come upon something that think anyone who struggles with alcoholism, addiction, depression and being bipolar or any other type of mental illness, will certainly understand and appreciate.

Throughout my many years of dealing with my alcoholism and addiction issues I have heard the echos of the same refrain of concern and love from my sisters, my nieces, my grandmother when she was alive, most recently my father, my friends, my therapist and psychiatrist and of course my husband. The first echoing message is this – “We love you and we are worried that you are going continue to do harm to yourself to the point of death from alcohol or you are going to hurt someone else because of your alcohol use.”

The second echoing message is, “The only way this is going to change is if you want to make the change and do the work. The alcoholism and adiction, you can change, we know the mental health issues are lifelong issues that you can help with medication. The drinking and other use, you do have control over and you have to want to change or it will never happen.”

It is very important to note that I am back at that place where I am ready and willing to do the hard work to remain clean and sober,  just for today and that is the most important statement that I can and will echo every single day!!

THat’s what’s in “My Rattled Cage”, thanks for stopping by!!

jjj-2019.jpg

#JusJoJan 2019 Daily Prompt – Jan. 21st

2 thoughts on “#JusJoJan 2019 – Jan. 21st -Echo”

Leave a comment