#JusJoJan Daily Prompt – January 18th, 2018 – Revolt

jjj-2018

 

This post is part of  #JusJoJan Daily Prompt – January 18th, 2018.

So the prompts this week have been great and very thought provoking and REVOLT fits right in.  As always, I do not wish to offend anybody, I am just voicing what is in my rattled cage. Something you should know about is that I consider myself to be what is considered a conservative democrat. This means I believe in helping all Americans succeed in achieving the American dream, but I do not believe in lifelong handouts. If you can work to attain the American dream you better do it! I believe in protecting our country, what I don’t believe in is trying to make other countries move into democracies and spending billions of dollars trying to help them when it is not what they want or even if they do want it! 

Throughout the history of the United States there have been multiple political revolts. But two come to mind immediately. The first is the 2008 contest between Democratic Sen. Barack Obama and Republican Sen. John McCain. After eight years of the Republican Party and in office with George H. W. Bush as president and Dick Cheney as vice president the country had become tired of being a in a war we did not belong in, was afraid of the economy and was collapsing he as it had not done since the Great Depression, and many policies that continue to better the top 1% and continue to deflate the rest of the country for 99% so to speak. But we had also become tired of all the lies.

VOTE

So the country as a whole for the most part, decided it was time to put up a candidate from the other party that was bold, somewhat new to Washington politics, who wanted to do the best that he could do for the country, who believed in the audacity of hope, who knew that this country could do better, this country could come back from the recession we were going into and build this country back to what we’ve been in the past. The greatest thing for this country when the election was said and done in my opinion, was that we had elected our first African-American president when people said it would never be done.

Barack Obama

So a couple things that happened in this particular election were Barack Obama took to social media like savvy individual that he is, and the country had a huge influx of young brand-new voters and young voters in their 20s that said they had had enough and were ready for the change we believe in. But one of the things that did not change this country was that bigotry and racism been here for over 200 years. You see the nice good folks who would vote for the current occupant in the White House 12 years later believed that Pres. Obama going to the White House change all these rules and make everything perfect for African Americans in the process stepping on the rights of those beautifully big racist White people across our nation. By the way as a disclaimer if you haven’t figured out by my picture I am pretty darn White. But my life experiences have taught me that I know better than anybody else in this world even if I became a millionaire I’d be no better anybody else in this world. And then even more so, not all African-Americans but many or most African Americans in the United States thought the exact same thing. Why would they think that, why would anyone think that, that’s not how it works – that’s not how any of this works.

What I will say about Pres. Obama is that while not everything was perfect, while he did not make all the best decisions, he did do so much for this country at a time when we’re going into a recession and we were dealing with a health care system that was and is still broken even though we have the affordable care act. Unemployment continued to go down, our economy continued to come out of the recession and grow, we worked hard to get out of some areas we didn’t belong in. Whether international issues that could have gone better sure but that’s with any president. Were there domestic issues that could’ve been handled better absolutely, as with any president. But one thing that did not change and will never change until we really have a great conversation about the racism and bigotry it almost seems as though we took a step back for eight years while Obama was president and then we’ve even to gone further back at the current White House.

 

The Joke

Fast-forward to 2016 when we had the presidential race between Democratic candidate Hillary Rodham Clinton and Republican candidate Donald J. Trump. This was one of the most crazy and truly disgusting races I have ever seen in my 51 years. On the one hand you had a woman who was trying so hard to be the first woman president ever elected to the United States, on the other hand you had a truly bigoted racist individual who doesn’t care for anybody else but himself, his family and the top 1%. Technically neither one of them should have been running. I for one did not want to see either a Clinton or Bush candidacy on the Democratic side, and none of the candidates on the Republican side were even peaking my interest.  Some of the things that came out of Donald J. Trump mouth during the year and a half before election night, was just bloodcurdling. Please bare with me and the collage below. Yet the folks who showed up to his rallies and were disrespectful and violent toward those who were not of the same mindset about this candidate believed everything that came out of this mans mouth and they still do today.

One of the most exasperating things that happens with this current occupant of the White House is his incessant attack on all other media outlets except his beloved darling Fox News. Anybody else whether it’s ABC, CBS, NBC, MSNBC, CNN or any other media outlet print radio television cable it doesn’t matter, other than Fox News everybody else is fake news. However you look at the very first picture in the above collage, there is no wonder why Fox News is his darling. What is really sad, is that he was so right in the first quote I have a brother-in-law who is never been quite as bigoted racist towards some folks specifically our former president until the last 15 years or so. Guess what he watches an awful lot of Fox News. So I guess one of the reason that the picture up there explain the joke is that people in this country specific with a 1% seem to think that the silent majority makes up the majority of this country.

Silentmajority

The silent majority is now becoming a minority and they do not speak for the entire country. As long as we have folks like the current occupant of the White House and other candidates who stand on the same principles of the Puritan Protestant white male conservative BS that has never gotten the country anywhere except in the very beginning of our country in the first two hundred years or so – we will continue go backwards and we could even find ourselves in another Civil War. But my fear is that the current occupant of the White House is going to have us in World War III in the next year or so, just my opinion.

On my previous blog , What’s Rattlng my Cagemy final blog post before I lost access was titled “Nixon is dead, isn’t he” because I see such a deep comparison between Pres. Richard M Nixon and the current occupant of the White House. And by the way, let me clarify why I really don’t want to use his name. I did not vote for the man, I have no respect or anything else for the man, but I do respect the office of the Presidency of the United States. Nixon war with media – current occupant war with the media, Nixon paranoid, thinking everyone was out to get him – current occupant paranoid thinking everyone is out to get him, Nixon covering up Watergate – current occupant either covering up or evading the real issue of the Russian meddling into the 2016 election, Nixon never taking responsibility for his own actions – current occupant never taking responsibility for his own actions. Some would love to believe that the current occupant will just resign. This man will never resign because he is the most narcissistic individual I I have ever seen in my life, and I am pretty narcissistic myself – BAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

VOTE

I’ve included the Vote America Every Vote Counts picture twice because at the beginning of the post it was just a small reminder, now at the end of this post this is a huge reminder. Moving forward if you want to see a true change in this country whether it be economic, healthcare, true jobs or tax cuts and better things for the middle class and lower class and not just the business and corporations and people like the current occupant of the White House, you must get out and vote. The other thing is we as a nation have to have an amendment to the Constitution to do away with the electoral college, because the electoral college puts people in office that were not truly elected – meaning, they did not receive the popular vote.

This is what is in My Rattled Cage today!

One thought on “#JusJoJan Daily Prompt – January 18th, 2018 – Revolt”

  1. I think that Obama was one of the greatest presidents that I have seen in my lifetime. I am not saying that he did a lot, but he did not do anything that I did not like. Trump won because he got votes from all of the haters, they really did not vote for him they voted to express their hatred.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment